h1

Bushwhacked at the pump

June 11, 2008

I paid $4.02 a gallon tonight because I had a $.10/gallon discount on 20 gallons. (The store that I shop at gives the discount once you’ve spent $100 there.) I could have gotten the remaining 10 gallons, but I park my vehicle in the drive way and won’t have a locking gas cap until tomorrow.


I’m fortunate. As a teacher, I have June and July “off”. I am working on lesson plans and materials for the next year, but at least I can do that at home. Also, I live less than 10 miles from where I work, so I only need to gas up every other week. What about people that aren’t as fortunate as I am?

Maybe I’m just a pessimist, but all signs point to a true recession…if not worse.

…Oh, you did see the little blurb in the news about the Republicans demonstration about how in touch they are with us ordinary folks, right?

“Senate Republicans blocked a proposal Tuesday to tax the windfall profits of the largest oil companies, despite pleas by Democratic leaders to use the measure to address America’s anger over $4 a gallon gasoline.” Republicans Block Extra Taxes On Oil Companies

Here are some sites that you might find informative & interesting regarding fuel.

Price of Oil

Energy Information Association

Gas Price Fixes That Won’t

3 comments

  1. So do i…But you dont here me bitchin….. maybe you have to sacrifice eating subway everyday now huh….. http://snazyink.com/


  2. Sorry, I don’t do Subway.

    Perhaps if you’d paid better attention in school, you could get a job as an editor.


  3. Um, Andrew, it’s not just that we’re paying (now just under) $4/gallon. It’s the fact that the oil companies are BRAGGING about the profit they’re making. What was Exxon’s profit for ’07? $40.61 BILLION (from CNNmoney)! Oh, they say that they’re putting the profits toward research for alternative fuels, but let’s get real. I have yet to see any proof of that, except from BP. Go to Forbes.com and search for BP, Clipper. There was also a good story in the AP about a month ago about it.

    Also, the higher the price of fuel, the higher the cost to transport goods. The higher the transport cost, the higher price we pay. Or have you not noticed the increase in your grocery bill? Or the cost of books? Or even movie tickets? Or maybe you’re one of the few people in this country that can afford whatever you want and it doesn’t matter how other people suffer. Pay attention to the world around you, Andrew.

    One more thing, and I’m not saying this to be mean. Here means where you are. What you meant to type is heAR, which means what you can, um, hear. Hope this helps you in the future.



Leave a Reply

