h1

When Abortion Was Illegal: Untold Stories | Veoh Video Network

August 5, 2008

I’m not here to discuss whether abortion is ok or not. That’s not up to me, except for if it pertains to me. It’s not up to you, unless it pertains to you. It damn sure shouldn’t be up to the government. The government thinks it’s important for a man to have the ability to maintain an erection but isn’t crazy about birth control. That in itself speaks volumes about the value of women in today’s society. This is about what happens when the right to choose is taken away.  *Apologies for links that pop up on video. Can’t take them off. Click on the “x” to close them out.*

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “When Abortion Was Illegal: Untold Sto…“, posted with vodpod
5 comments

  1. What about the baby’s choice? Do you suppose the baby would choose to be ripped to shreads? Think the baby would choose to be partially born, have scissors thrust into the base of his or her skull and have it’s little brain sucked out? I’d say not.


  2. While I truly understand your point of view, an embryo has no brain activity prior to 6 weeks gestation, at the earliest. It makes your argument of choice invalid.


  3. Yes, of course I understand that. The point being that after the child is murdered, he or she will “never” be able to make the choice.


  4. Equally dead?

    Or are some women more valuable than other women?


  5. But you see, we cannot reach a consensus on when life definitively begins. Or I guess, when an embryo becomes a viable being. We all have different philosophies on that.

    Beliefs are founded in religion and philosophy. Who’s religion or philosophy is to prevail? Having a choice doesn’t force any particular beliefs. Our government is obligated to keep Church & State separate, and the laws should reflect that. Remember what Justice Kennedy wrote “At the heart of liberty is the right to define one’s own concept of existence, of meaning, of the universe, and of the mystery of human life.”

    On a personal note, pregnancy was elusive for me for a long time. When it happened the first time, I was ecstatic. The second time I was again cartwheeling, and when he was born a month early, I never prayed as hard as I did for his survival. And I have the most amazing sons who’ve grown into fine young men. My third pregnancy ended in a miscarriage, which to this day leaves me with sadness over what could have been.



Leave a Reply

