h1

The killing of Dr. George Tiller

May 31, 2009

drtillerIt’s what happens when a particular religious view is forced upon someone else. When the hate speeches ratchet up a notch and maintain their frenzy. It’s when the law is not respected – when man’s desire supersedes the law and in his or her mind justifies their actions.

Holier than thou, my religion is better that yours, that type of piousness  is taking its toll on ethics in this country.  Pharmacists who refuse to fill birth control prescriptions, yet have no problem in selling erection-enhancers. Extremists who claim to be pro-life yet take a life. And sadly there are comments on the web that say Dr. Tiller had it coming, that his murder was justified, that he is now trembling before his god, that they are surprised his church would have him, and even speaking about how the media “canonized Rosa Parks” even though she , too, broke the law.

I don’t have a dime to spare this summer, but I’ll cut a corner somewhere in order to make a donation to Planned Parenthood in memory of Dr. George Tiller. And if you care to know more about this man, here’s a portion from Daily Kos:

In 1980 I was pregnant with my first child.  I had no insurance and couldn’t afford a doctors appointment until I was approved for a medical card..  Mom told Dr. Tiller and he brought me into his office where he examined me, free of charge.  I can credit him with the very first picture taken of my son.

The last story I have to share is about my friends who could not have children.  Dr. Tiller’s office worked with several attorneys in the Wichita area to provide adoption services for his patients who wanted this option.  My friends have a 10 yr. old boy now, who is loved and adored.

So, there you have it. The dangers of extremism. It will be interesting to see how the Fox shills report this.

Dr. Tiller’s murder cannot be justified and to even begin trying to rationalize it presents desperation.


2 comments

  1. Thank you for sharing this your story!


    • It’s not my story – it’s from someone who posted it on Daily Kos. Dr. Tiller keeps being referred to as an “abortion doctor” when in reality, he was a doctor of compassion…one who obeyed the law.



Leave a Reply

